It’s morning and it’s quiet.  I like those two things.  I live in the country with little around but the chickens across the road to break the silence of nature waking up. Even they are a welcome addition to the “noise” around me.

The wild doves are calling to each other and the crickets are chirping as they always do – but that is it.  The only other noise is in my head.  The endless questions of morning on what will the day bring, what will I do with the gifts that are presented, how can I love more, are my children happy, are my friends well, and the list goes on.  I don’t know if anyone else has such questions floating through their head in the early hours of the day, but I do.

I also wonder: am I doing enough?  It seems like such a strange question, simple in its intent and yet enormous in its underlying meaning.  I mean I can be doing a lot in my day.  I can do laundry, tend to the farm, feed the dog and a million other small things, but are they the right thing at the appropriate moment.  It is all work that needs to be done during the course of living, but will I (do I) do them with intention?  Will I make sure that the words that come from my soul are gentle and loving or will I just speak to hear noise?  There is a difference and making sure that the acts of my day are filled with the right intention is important.

In one way I feel like I ramble, asking mindless questions of the self.  However, if we do not ask ourselves what intention we will walk through the world with today, how will we know what impact we may have on tomorrow?  Everything we do creates reverberating energy affecting not only ourselves but everything around us.  It sounds a little like the Butterfly Effect or Chaos Theory, but simple cause and effect is a law of the universe that we shouldn’t forget.  Everything we do, everything we say, causes new choices and new perspectives.  Each time we believe we are making one choice we are actually making multiple choices that can affect more than we realize.

A long time ago I took an English course and the book for the class was “The Rhetoric of Yes” by Ray Fabrizio.  It was a compilation of writings by people ranging from Jean-Paul Sartre to Chief Seattle. The underlying theme of the book was that in every single decision made there are at least two choices that take place.  Simply put, when a person chooses to say yes they are also choosing to say no.  Yes to moving forward; no to staying stagnant. Yes to acting kindly; no to acting without thought. Yes to speaking with intention; no to speaking without care.  Most people do not understand what they are saying yes to let alone what the “no” in the decision is.

Cause and effect, the effect may not be noticed right away.  In fact, in some cases the effect may be so miniscule that you will never truly see what it is.  But maybe you will.  It can be as simple as appreciating the sound of chickens across the street in the early morning and that is fine.  But what if you decide to smile at the person walking past you on the street?  You may help them out of the fog they are in, brightening their day and giving them the joy of knowing they were worth being noticed.  It may be what they need to deal with the stresses of their own life and it costs you nothing, only the effort to live your life with intention. You choose to share yourself with that person and at the same moment you choose not to hide from the world letting them know they are part of something greater as well.

So this morning it is quiet and I appreciate the waking of the world.  The questions run through my head as they always do and I begin my own day of intention.  Consider this my smiling at all those who happen to pass me on the internet’s sidewalk today.

